Like last year I took part in Ravelry's Christmas stocking swap. I got my package today and I loved it.

I got a huge stocking. Lynda tells me that in Gwynedd county in Wales they were famous for knitting stockings in the 18th and 19th centuries and she got her inspiration from them. I'm a big fan of traditional knitting, so Lynda knitted me exactly what I like. Lynda had really thought carefully of the stocking stuffers. I got  "The Snowman" , I can use that at work because the book has only the pictures and I'll have to tell the story. All the things were wrapped in snowman gift wrapping. I got lovely socks and Santa chocolate. And look at these stitch markers:

The yarn suited the historical stocking as well, it is hand spun - I love it! I have to try if it felts. I've been thinking of knitting a white Christmas teacosy, maybe this is the yarn for that. Thank you Lynda!

The Christmas stocking swap is one of my favourite swaps and if they'll organize it again I will do it for sure.

Here's the stocking I knitted for my partner in Idaho:

Like Lynda I used local history to design the stocking. The pattern is from traditional Finnish mittens.

Osallistuin viime vuotiseen tapaan Ravelryn joulusukkavaihtoon. Mieheni on Kanadasta ja haluan meidän jouluumme jotain myös hänen jouluperinteestään. Sain tänään pakettini Walesista  ja tykkään siitä kovasti. Lynda oli neulonut perinteisen walesilaisen sukan. Hänen kreivikunnastansa oli 1700-1800 -luvulla kuuluisa sukkien neulojistaan. Lynda oli ajatellut paljon paketin sisältöä, sillä sain Lumiukko-kirjan, jossa on pelkkiä kuvia - tarina pitää kertoa itse - tykkään. Kaikki lahjat oli paketoitu lumiukkopaperiin. Silmukkamerkeissä oli joulusukkakoristeet.

Miun neuloma joulusukka saapui perille muutama päivä sitten. Mie käytin siinä taas Eeva Haaviston lapasmallia, muistaakseni numeroa 82.

29.20.2009

Ai joo, unohtui kertoa langoista: Valkoinen on Nallea ja tuo toinen lanka on Regian Design Linen punasävyistä raitalankaa.